Let’s Clear Some Things Up

http://www.buzzfeed.com/krystieyandoli/confessions-that-prove-being-a-feminist-is-a-complicated+

The link above is a link to probably one of the worst articles I have ever read in my life.  It is called 23 Confessions That Prove Being A Feminist Is A Complicated Identity when really, the title should be title People Who Are Slightly Confused as to What Feminism Is. As you can see by most of the comments below this article, there are many who agree.

Feminism isn’t this idea that a man can’t take care of a woman, that a woman has to be this totally man hating, independent, masculine lady.  Feminism is about making your own choices. We see these radical feminists who are so extreme that they convey a very sexist message, ordering women to not do what they want (like be a stay at home mom) and spewing hateful words toward men.

If a woman wants to be a stay at home mom, she is a feminist.  If she wants to work, she is a feminist.  If she wants to cook for her partner, she is a feminist.  If she and her partner decide he will be a stay at home dad, she is a feminist.  If she likes to be dominated in intimate situations, she is a feminist.  If she chooses to submissive in intimate situations, she is a feminist.  If she is looking for her prince charming to take car of her, she is a feminist.  If she is not looking for her prince charming, she is a feminist.  Do you see where I’m going here?

Feminism was created because women didn’t have a choice. Women didn’t have rights, we didn’t have the ability to make our own decisions about our own life.  Those decisions were dictated by our partners and our society.  We have the feminist movement so we can choose whatever we want.  There is no difference in a man telling a woman what to do or a woman telling another woman what to do. Feminists make their own choices as to how they wish to live their lives.

I am a feminist.  I’ve written about this so many times.  I will pay for a date, the entire thing.  My partner will not pay for every single date.  He knows I am a strong, independent woman who can do anything he can.  He knows I spend the majority of my time fighting for my rights as a woman through all of my work.  I will be dominant, I will think for myself and I will stand my ground when I have a strong opinion about something.

I am also a feminist because I love to cook for him.  I love to take care of him.  I’ll go grocery shopping for him, make dinner for him and his friends, I’ll clean his kitchen for him.  I know this isn’t a required part of our relationship, but I love doing it.  I love taking care of him.  If I am ever married one day, no matter how much I work, I will want to cook for my husband because that is something I love.  I also love when he comes up behind me and grabs my butt.  I love that he takes care of me.  I love that he protects me.  I love when he introduces me as ‘his girl’.  These are all things people don’t think are part of feminism, but guess what?? They are because they are my choice.

I am a strong, independent woman who is quite capable of making my own choices with how I wish to live my life and that is exactly what feminism is.  So if you want to be a stay at home mom, if you want to cook for your partner, if you want to work, if you want to propose to your man, go for it!  As long it is your choice, that is feminism, there is nothing confusing or conflicting about it.  This is why that article is absolutely ridiculous.  Everything those women said are part of feminism because it is their choice.

What are your thoughts on this article? I’d love to hear.

♥ Meggie

Leave a Reply

