Bold Moves

I am a very anxious person.  I don’t really like going places alone, I am terrified of new people (even though I adore being around people) and I am afraid to try new things, to speak my mind. 

A lot of that has changed throughout the year and I’ve worked hard at dealing with my anxiety.  I go a lot of places by myself, I have pushed myself to be in positions that make me anxious and scare me so I can conqueror those fears and that has really helped me.  I am shedding these layers of anxiety and fear and just going for it, embracing life with nothing holding me back.

Now, I’m going to do something that makes me very anxious, I am going to plan an event.  I don’t mind planning events for others, I love it, but this one will be planned and hosted by me.  I have talked to several friends who are more than willing to help and participate.  My biggest fear though is that no one else will show up!

I want to engage my community and surrounding communities in raising awareness of domestic abuse, sexual assault and human trafficking.  Those are very difficult topics to talk about, so I have no idea where to start in planning this.  I have people who are willing to speak, myself included, but I’m not sure what else to include.  I’d love to have a day long event, where people can spend time and eat, have fun, raise money for various nonprofits but also learn about what is going on in our own backyard.  I want to bust the myths surrounding assault and trafficking, I want to come together as a community to work toward an end.

I am so excited that I am going for this and that all of my friends and family are so incredibly supportive.  I love sharing information and my own experience.  Sometimes people think they are all alone or they’re embarrassed about what they have gone through in life.  I know that’s how I felt.  I didn’t want to admit the kind of relationship I was in to people around me, I didn’t want to admit to myself that I was with someone who could care less about me.  I’m hoping if this event is successful, it will provide resources if anyone is in a situation like that.

If anyone has any suggestions how to engage my community, marketing or ideas for how to make this a fun day, please share with me!  I’d love to hear what you have to say.

♥ Meggie

Leave a Reply

