101 & A Party

I started blogging almost a year ago and didn’t think much about it.  It was just a way to get my thoughts and frustrations down,  This is my 101st blog, which is exciting!  I have so many people who follow my blog which I never expected and I have made 2 good friends from doing this as well.  That is such a funny concept to me since I have never even met these 2 women, but they are so wonderful and sweet!  Thank you to everyone who supported me and who reads my blogs, I really appreciate everything! 🙂

The other thing I wanted to talk about was the party I helped host on Tuesday.  It was a party for WAR Chest Boutique in Naperville.  A brief summary for those who don’t know what WAR is, it is part of Women at Risk international, a nonprofit created to rescue women from human trafficking and fight 14 risk issues women face.  Everything in the boutiques are made or sourced by women rescued or at risk women and the money goes right back into the programs.  You can click here to see some of the products I have bought & read their stories!

In the beginning of this party, we show a video (you can click here to watch it) and Ashley, the store manager speaks a bit more about the store.  I even got to speak a bit!!  It is so amazing to watch the faces of the women during the presentation.  Some already know what WAR is so they are not surprised, but others have no idea what human trafficking is really like, everything the word encompasses.  I was like that before I heard Becky, the founder, speak in my human rights class over a year ago.

I want to share Becky’s story.  She is an American raised in Bangladesh because her father was a doctor and worked there.  When she was 14 years old, a girl was brought in who was her age.  She has resisted rape from her father and brother so they in turn, poured acid down her throat to show her that she had no voice.  Acid attacks are just one of many issues women face around the world and what we fight to stop.

There are so many ways to get involved that don’t even involved volunteering!  They have an online store where you could purchase products and your money goes to help women, I am running a 5K in September to raise awareness as well as participating in a bra drive and all you would have to do is donate bras!  There are so many upcoming events that I am really excited to work on!

Another event that I am really excited to work on is for Love Letters to Yourself.  This was started by a friend, Jillie, and it is a group designed to empower women and promote self-love!  She is collecting love letters that women write, you can read my love letter here, and she wants to publish a book.  Not only that, she is fundraising so she can go down to Peru where she was offered a position to work with an organization designed to empower women in a low incomes town decimated by floods over 10 years ago and plagued by violence and rape.  If anyone is interested, I can find out from Jillie where you can send your love letter!

As always, if you have any questions or want more information on any of these groups or issues, you can always contact me in the comments section.  I have tons of resources since people come to me with questions all of the time!  Always remember, there is a way to get involved no matter how busy your schedule is.  If you are passionate about something, then you can always find a way to make it work!

♥ Meggie

2 thoughts on “101 & A Party

Leave a Reply

