International Women’s Day

I haven’t posted a long blog in a while.  Last night I made a mini post, but today will be my first big post in a while.  I’ve been so busy with school and everything else!

To start off with HAPPY INTERNATIONAL WOMEN’S DAY!  Today is a day to celebrate being a woman!  My friend got really into it.  She started posting on my Facebook wall.  This video here is one I really liked, it will really make you think.  THEN she posted this great idea that she read in a blog!  Take a picture of in your high heels to show your support for International Women’s Day!  Here’s my photo!

SONY DSC

Now, some may believe that wearing heels to show support for International Women’s Day is ridiculous and somethings objectifys women.  I, however, believe no such thing!  Women don’t have to dress like men to be equals to them!!  I can strut around in my fancy heels and feel great and feminine and powerful!  I’ve mentioned this in a bunch of different blogs, but it’s true!  Why can’t I look feminine and enjoy dressing like it and still be equal to men?

Anyways, take the time, if you’re a man or woman, to appreciate the women in your life not only that, I urge you to take the time to think of women in other countries or in our country, women who don’t have opportunities, some of the opportunities we take for granted.  Think of your female heroes!

As women, we have come such a long way and thinking of everything my grandmothers have lived through.  They lived during a time where women just had the right to vote, they started working when women were more accepted in the workplace during World War II.  Now, I’m going to graduate college and I could become a CEO if I wanted to!  It’s crazy to me to think that something like that wasn’t possible before!

In the U.S., we still face obstacles, the glass ceiling in the corporate world, unfair wage differences, perceptions on femininity in comparison to our capability, meaning that the more feminine we appear with make up and heels, the less seriously we are to be taken.  In other countries, women still don’t have the right to vote or the right to live in safety.  Hopefully the world will continue to change and I feel so lucky for the opportunities I have  that my grandmothers didn’t when they were 22 years old!

Enjoy being a woman! Love it, embrace it!

SIDE NOTE:  If anyone hasn’t read my blog from yesterday, please check it out.  You can read it here.  I’m currently trying to find a home for an abandoned female Pit Bull.  She is being held in the Chicago Animal Control and is scheduled to be euthanized Monday, March 11th.  I’ve contacted some rescue facilities for guidance on how I should proceed and they say they can’t pull without a foster, especially when it is a Pit Bull.  No one wants a Pit Bull because of stereotypes about the breed, which couldn’t be farther from the truth.  The post contains contact information and a photo.  Please help me find a home for her, even if it’s just a temporary foster home.  We just want to keep her from being put down and then we can focus on finding her a forever home.  Thank you.

2 thoughts on “International Women’s Day

Leave a Reply

