Too Pretty

Today I was going to write about Christmas because it is by far my favorite holiday for so many reasons, but I stumbled upon this article instead (here’s another link to a second article on the same issue).

The Iowa Supreme Court upheld the decision that firing an assistant for being to attractive is legal because “Such firings may be unfair, but they are not unlawful discrimination under the Iowa Civil Rights Act because they are motivated by feelings and emotions, not gender, Justice Edward Mansfield wrote” (ABC News Article). 

Not only that, her boss made INCREDIBLY inappropriate comments to her like “‘Dr. Knight acknowledges he once told Nelson that if she saw his pants bulging, she would know her clothing was too revealing,’ the justices wrote” (Yahoo News).  Honestly if my boss ever said that to me, I would file a sexual harassment complaint against him.  That is repulsive, disgusting and COMPLETELY unnecessary.  If her clothes were too tight and inappropriate for the work place all he had to do was tell her to wear different clothes.  I don’t know how she dressed, but telling her that she can tell if she her clothes are too tight by seeing “his pants bulging”, wow.  I really don’t even have words to describe how repulsive and just beyond disrespectful that is.

In the ABC News article it states that this Dr. Knight allegedly “that’s like having a Lamborghini in the garage and never driving it” (ABC News).  Women are not cars nor are they only used for sex.  If he can’t shut up and keep his vulgar sexual lusts to himself, HE should be the one that should be the one in the wrong, not his employee.  Women are not cars, women are not sexual vehicles put on the planet to thrust yourself at and make comments about how you think that in the future you would most likely have an affair.  He did when “Nelson’s husband tried to reason with Knight, the dentist told him he ‘feared he would have an affair with her down the road if he did not fire her'” (Yahoo News).  Just because he is completely incompetent and can’t control himself doesn’t mean that a Nelson is the same disgusting person he is.

The thing that gets me the most is the fact that Knight’s wife got mad at Nelson!!!!  If he was my husband, he would be kicked out and his belongings thrown in the street.  If he can’t trust himself around another women and talks about the “bulge in his pants” and how another woman is like having a fancy car and not being able to drive it, no way would he stay in my house or be a part of my life.  If my boyfriend said he thought an affair would happen if his employee stayed any longer he’d be out too.  That means her husband has so little respect for her and can’t control his lusts toward other women when HE HAS A WIFE AT HOME.  Seriously think about that!  Really!?!?! 

My boyfriend might think a model is attractive or actress and look at them.  The thing is, his eyes ALWAYS come back to me and he never lusts for another woman like that.  He might think a woman at his work is pretty, but I’M his Lamborghini, not her.  I’M the one that he desires to be with and who he finds the most attractive in the world. No other woman, in his eyes, stand up to me and I feel the same toward him.   Yes I am completely enamored with Ryan Gosling, but my boyfriend is the most attractive man in the world to me.

I do understand that the court case was regarding gender discrimination and technically he wasn’t firing her because she was a woman, just because she was attractive, however I do believe this is complete and utter discrimination just the same, except with looks not gender, just a technicality.  Not only that, he completely was outside of his boundaries when he was asking her about “how often she experienced an orgasm” (Yahoo News) and saying if she saw his pants bulging.  Who says that to someone!?!?  I feel awful for his wife too, I think she knows she can’t trust her husband and that’s why she wanted Nelson fired immediately.

I don’t even have any words to describe my feelings on this article, my blog doesn’t even cover half of my disgust.

2 thoughts on “Too Pretty

  1. I’m also enamored with Ryan Gosling 😉

    And yes, I totally agree with you: is disgusting! But not only the Dr. or his wife, but also the system itself, how it allows this to happen.

    Yet, once again, we realize that there is no “perfect” country or “perfect” culture, or whatever, to live in. That it depends on each one of us to be a good human being, a good citizen, and a good boyfriend, friend, husband, wife, brother, sister, mother, etc.

    Keep up with your values and be an example for others. That’s what we all should do 🙂

    Merry Christmas, Maggie! Hope you have a great time with your family!!

    Sincerely,
    Daniela

  2. I completely agree!! I understand their ruling, but you have to get your charge and wording just perfect or you’ll lose your case. If she filed a sexual harassment case, she would’ve won. It’s so frustrating!

    And thanks! I totally agree with you! I think people should speak up about their opinions and values or society is just going go downhill.

    Merry Christmas to you too!! I was going to comment on your post but my computer at work does not like WordPress at all! lol I hope you and your family and friends have a wonderful Christmas & New Years!!

    Sincerely,
    Meg

    P.S. I think every woman is enamored with Ryan Gosling! lol

Leave a Reply

