Black Friday

So my cousin posted this great picture on Facebook.  It was one of those images with a quote and it said “Black Friday:  Because only in America, people trample others for sales exactly one day after being thankful for what they already have.”

I totally understand wanting to go out for great deals and sales, everyone could save some money.  Not only that it’s fun!  It’s like a game, trying to find what you need before someone else and that’s exciting!  I’ve never been out on Black Friday but one year I want to!  So many of my friends do and it sounds like fun.

Last year, I remember hearing about those people who were trampled to death outside of Walmart, I think it was Walmart, but the location wasn’t really important.  It’s the fact that people were trampled for a sale.  Was a discount so important that you had to push and fight people out of the way to get what you want and that ended their lives?

It’s just something to think about, I think Black Friday always sounds fun and you get great deals, but I’d much rather lose the sweater I want and help someone up then trample them.  It’s a scary thought to me to think that our society has come down to a tragedy like that, literally running over multiple people for a sale!  Can you actually wrap your head around that?!  Just for a sale!  That sounds like it should be joke that people tell around this time of year because that thing would never happen in real life, you know?  Just for a sale.

It just shocks me to no end that something like this happened for such a useless reason, not that there is any reason that justifies the loss of any life, but this is honestly the, I don’t even know what to say!  It happened for a sale and that’s it.  After Thanksgiving, after those who lost their lives had most likely spent the day with their family who now can no longer have that time with them.  For those of you who went out on Black Friday, I hope you had so much fun and were very safe, found everything you wanted and got some fantastic deals, and picked someone up if they fell down and be thankful for everything in your life.

2 thoughts on “Black Friday

Leave a Reply

