Fly Over States

Like I said in my post Paint Me a Song, there are two moments in my life where music has touched me beyond any describable emotion.  For those who haven’t read that blog, to me music has this power to touch people.  Of course you’ll hear songs that you can relate to like those about the death of a loved one or a song about a break up, but there are times where music touches you deeper than that, far deeper, hitting something within your soul and you just can’t explain it.  There aren’t words to describe what you’re feeling.

The first moment for me was hearing Don McLean’s song Vincent.  It showed me that music can go beyond just a basic emotional reaction, it can bring out this beauty and, I don’t even know what to write!  It’s simply one of the most incredible feelings someone can experience.

I want to talk about the second moment where it just hit me and made me feel something so intense, it’s beyond all words.  This was when I heard the song Fly Over States by Jason Aldean.  First of all, he is probably my all time favorites artist.  I love his music and his songs can help me through a break up or make me smile or get me ready to go down to the city with my girls for a night of fun.  Second, I was surprised to feel such an emotional tidal wave because music just isn’t the same as it used to be, but that is an entirely different topic and too long to talk about now.

One thing you might not know about me is that I love traveling and this little fact is really important to understanding why this touched me so deep.  I’ve never been out of the country, unless you count a boat tour of Niagara Falls where we technically crossed the Canadian border.  I’ve been to about 42 states and driven to all of them, form Chicago to the Pacific Coast and Atlantic Coast, I’ve seen almost everything.  I’ve been to every single state west of the Mississippi except Alaska and Hawaii.  I just a few north-eastern states and southern states left to go.  Driving around the country is the most amazing thing you could do. The entire United States is just my big backyard, so beautiful and available, you can experience so many things, incredible things, from different cities to different natural wonders.  The United States is just beautiful and you don’t have to leave the country to have these amazing moments.

The song Fly Over States, for those who haven’t heard it, starts out talking about some guys on a plane making small talk with a stewardess about all of the states, the fly over states, full of farm land and nothing much to see.  In every chorus, Aldean describes the beautiful that these fly over states have.  There are farmers that work hard every day to support this country and he talks about “a windshield sunset in your eyes,
like a water colored painted sky” and taking “a ride across the badlands,
feel that freedom on your face” (that line is my favorite).

The cool thing is, I’ve done these things, felt these emotions, seen the people of this country and had these moment, almost like these religious experiences you hear about, something so powerful, it’s just incredible.  Even in these areas where there are only farm land or something like that, some people think that it isn’t beautiful, after all it’s only flat land with plants.  Look at it though, really look at it and think of the people working that land and look at that sunset.  It is a water-color, a beautiful painting shining through your window, lighting you up, wrapping you in these colors, completely natural.  There’s nothing man-made about it, that beauty is happening, it’s like a miracle right in front of your eyes, it is just happening.

The Badlands, Utah Red Rocks places like that, you can feel freedom.  Honestly it is absolutely overwhelming.  It’s so open and BIG!  Everything is so big it’s surreal, like you’re on some movie set where there’s a green screen.  The air around you just wraps you up and when the sun goes down, the rocks change colors, colors you’d never see in real life.  It’s so hot during the day, but at night the air gets cooler and slides against your skin and the only heat that’s left is coming right off your skin.  Pictures really don’t do any justice to these places.  In pictures you can’t experience what it truly feels like to be free and that’s exactly what these places do, give you that experience.

I guess that’s why this song struck a chord with me, no pun intended.  Pictures are limited in their ability to tell stories but music has to power to go past these barriers, it can unite people of different races or countries, it can explain the pain of losing a loved one to cancer to someone who’s never experienced that or help piece your heart back together after a break up when you feel your life will never get better.  If any way of art or communication can give this land any justice, music would be able to do that.

I love my country and this land, the natural wonders that people over look, they either think it’s just a bunch of rocks or flat land and there’s nothing there, nothing exciting, no Facebook or T.V. or anything like that.  Well, there isn’t, but there is just pure and simple beauty.  So stop and take a look around and don’t miss the wonders in your life, the sunset, the sun on your skin, stars in the sky or the sweet smell after a rain storm.  There are no such things as fly over states because miracles are all around us all the time, you just have to open your eyes and see them.

2 thoughts on “Fly Over States

Leave a Reply

