The Ability to Change

I’ve never blogged before, ever.  I’m not a writer, but I guess blogs can work for those who can write and those who can’t, or let’s just hope that’s the case with me. 🙂

I do a lot of things, a bunch of things actually and I love every single one of them.  I’m a full-time college student, working on my Business Management degree with a Spanish minor.  I work at an insurance brokerage as an office manager full-time summer and part-time during the school year.  I love it, organizing, calling people, scheduling events, I just love it and everyone is just amazing!

I also work on Recycled2New with my Aunt.  Everything is completely recycled and reused, we like to call it upcycling.  Earring made from pop cans, bracelets from guitar stings, notebooks from reused paper!  My aunt just finds things, like them, keeps them, and somehow makes something with them beautiful!  You would never guess that any of the things she makes are from items that are recycled and reused, things that corporations, stores and everyday people throw away every single day.  (Visit our facebook and twitter, yea I’m going to put a shameless plug in my blog 🙂 )

Finally my passion, my non-profit work.  I have one organization in the city that I’m looking to volunteer at and hopefully I’m going to get an internship at WAR International in Naperville.

That’s what I really love, helping others, especially giving them the tools that enable them to help themselves.  There is nothing more rewarding than knowing that you’ve helped someone or made some sort of difference in their life.

I was recently talking to someone who says that they would like to volunteer but they don’t believe that people have the ability to change, that there are that many people who could be helped and they are just one person so what good could they do?

First of all, I think the majority of people can change, they just need to find their inspiration.  They need to find that one thing or person to give them a purpose and show them what life really has to offer.  There are bad people in the world, those who are just bad, awful people and cannot be helped, but I honestly believe that people are good are the majority.  The news stations always highlight the negative things in life, but what about those amazing heroes, firemen, police officer, a father who rescues his family from a burning house or even just that one person who compliments you, making you smile.  Aren’t those all wonderful things that make life worth living?

Second, everyone has the power to make a change in someone’s life.  Maybe with all of the work that I am doing and want to do in the future I will never make a difference in someone’s life, maybe I’ll make a difference in one person’s life or maybe a million.  You don’t know who you can help until you try.  What if people like Martin Luther King never tried to make a difference?  Or like I said, what if that one person didn’t give you a compliment?  You could create an entire social movement or make one person just a little happier and maybe make their bad day turn into a good one.

Whatever the outcome, working to give education to children, feed a family, teach someone a new language, or just tell someone they have cute shoes, when you give kindness to a person, any type of kindness, you always make someone a little happier in their life so you make a difference.

Like I always tell people, you are one person in this world, but sometimes it only take one person to make a world of difference.

So, to whoever reads this, my challenge to you is go and put yourself out there.  Donate to animal shelter or food pantry, go volunteer to teach a sports team for kids in the city, give money to cancer research or the next time you see someone with cute shoes or nice hair or with a great car, tell them that, share that act of kindness with them.  You have the power to make a difference no matter how big, it’s all up to you, so let’s start now.  Tomorrow, or even today, give someone you don’t know a compliment and see them smile.

Leave a Reply

